Skip to content

A Kiss Before I Go!

January 9, 2012

January 4, 2012

Since January 2 was our 8 month anniversary, tonight Jeb and I went on a dinner-and-a-movie date 😀

And, in true form, I wanted to get dolled up and therefore used the excuse to make…

Face and Hair Masks!

The face mask, which I am in LOVE with, includes:

1/2 ripe banana

1/2 overripe avocado

1T chopped cucumber

1T plain nonfat yogurt

1T olive oil

The only thing I noticed was that after a few days in the fridge, the avocado had started to turn brown in the mask, therefore making my mask loose its pretty green color.

I put all these ingredients in my Magic Bullet (which I LOVE), and they pureed them together nicely. The Magic Bullet comes with several lids that fit the mixing cups, so I put the rest of my mask in the refrigerator! Smooth the mixture onto your face and leave it on for 30 minutes. It’ll dry to a brown color on your face, which is a little weird, but it washes off pretty easily with warm water. After you wash off the mask, splash your face with cold water to open your pores. This mask was the best one I’d ever found: the olive oil left my face feeling moisturized all day, the banana, yogurt, and avocado left it feeling cool and smelling delicious, and the cucumber made my skin feel cool and light for hours. I definitely recommend this one.

The next mask I made was for my hair, and before I give you this recipe, let me backtrack on my experience with hair masks.

When Jeb asked me on our first date, eight months ago, I wanted to look my very best, so I found a hair mask similar to this recipe that included a half of a banana blended into the other ingredients. I didn’t want to use my blender because, to be honest, it was on its last legs. So I just mashed up the banana with a fork, and it appeared to be pretty well blended, though it was a little chunky. So I put it in my hair, left it in, yaddah yaddah yaddah. I washed it out, got dressed up, went to dinner. So we’re getting along great, talking, eating dinner, and I start playing with my hair, per usual. Its curly, and I tend to play with it when I’m nervous. So I’m running my fingers in my hair and I feel something…like a lump…and I realize…is it a knot?…no…IT’S A PIECE OF BANANA! OMG! So after mildly freaking out and staring intently at something over Jeb’s shoulder until he turned around, I pulled it out and flicked it over my shoulder. I did this several times throughout the date, and eventually told Jeb what went on later and we got a good laugh out of it.

SO needless to say, when making this hair mask, I decided that before it came anywhere near my hair it was going to be all liquid and lump free! And after it came out of my Magic Bullet, it was!

This hair mask includes:

1/2 cup of nonfat plain yogurt or mayonaisse (I used yogurt)

1 t olive oil

Mashed pulp from half of your favorite fruit (1/2 banana, which I used, 1/2 apple, 1/2 avocado, etc.)

Puree all the ingredients together and slather into hair, then cover. I’ve used plastic wrap before, but I looked about as stupid as I felt with ClingWrap on my head, and it didn’t work very well. So I bought some processing caps from Wal-Mart and they worked just as well.

Rockin’ my plastic cap.

After leaving both the hair and face masks on for 30 minutes, I washed them off in the shower. My face felt great, but the hair mask didn’t do a whole lot for me. After doing more reading, I read that banana isn’t very good in your hair, so next time I think I’ll try the avocado instead.

I figured wearing my bathing suit from work would be the best attire for hair and face mask gloop.

So that night, we went to go see Real Steel, which, for all you haters who said it was just about Rockem Sockem Robots plus Hugh Jackman (which is a reason all by itself!), it was AWESOME! It’s set in 2027, when boxing has been replaced by fighting robots, which Hugh Jackman’s character, Charlie, has invested a good chunk of his life into. Between his cocky attitude, money trouble, and tendency to think more with his manhood than his brain, it’s safe to say thinks aren’t looking up for him. Then, on top of everything else, he finds out that the mother of his son (whom he’s known about, but is just a crap father) has just passed away, and that he’s up for the custody of his son, who has an attitude that could give Charlie’s a run for his money. On a winding adventure of boxing, junk robots, and father-son bonding, this movie evolves into a great plot, though it may be tossed with a little cheese here and there 😉

Maybe I just loved it because I’m a sucker for fighting movies, tender moments, happy endings, metalwork and gearheads, Hugh Jackman, and a bitchin’ soundtrack 😉 But I thought it was good.

Afterwards, we crossed the street from our usual restaurant, Fishbones (which is STILL amazing), to eat at Sticks and Stones Clay Oven Pizza, which I’ve ordered out from before but never eaten in at. I love the atmostphere; lots of open windows and cozy seating. Jeb and I nabbed a booth and ordered an appetizer called Desire, described as a Goat Lady Chevre “Truffles” with Artisan Crackers. It was FANTASTIC. It tasted like a mix of creamy cheeses with sliced tomatoes baked on top. I got a beer from Mother Earth (my first, even though it’s brewed in Kinston! That one was for you, Lee 😉 ), a Pale Ale, which I really liked. It had a really strong, hoppy flavor.

For dinner, Jeb and I each got a small pizza: I got “A Kiss Before I Go,” which has Tomato Sauce, Fried Eggplant, Wild Mushrooms, Mozzarella, Carmelized Garlic, Fresh Basil, and Parmesan. Lauren and I have gotten it several times before, and it’s one of my favorites. Jeb got a new pizza on their menu, called “Life is Beautiful,” (I think) which had Tomato Sauce, Fried Chicken pieces, Collards, Mushrooms, and Parmesan cheese. Both were immensely good, I completely recommend Sticks and Stones to anyone who’s in the area!

I had to work from 4:30am to 1pm today at my job at the Spears YMCA. I’ve been a lifeguard there for 2 years now, and while sometimes it drives me insane (as all jobs do for us at some point or another), but today I’m thankful for my job. In today’s economy, for one thing, I’m blessed to have a job. For another, I love the people I’ve met through working at the Y, and the opportunities it’s opened up for me. I can go to work dragging my feet, dreading having to get up so early in the morning, but the people I see everyday really brighten my day.

NP: “Baba Yetu”

“It all brought up such bad memories, I mean whom I trying to kid, you know? A clean break is easier, you can reset it and it heals and you move on, but if you leave things messy, or things dont get put right then it just hurts.. forever.”
-Little Black Book

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

