Skip to content

“You never know how strong you are until being strong is the only choice you have.”

February 7, 2012

February 6, 2012

Today I tried out a new recipe from a book I picked up from Ed McKay’s awhile back, Eat Up, Slimdown: Annual Recipes 2007. They’ve got a wide variety of healthy, low-calorie dishes that really fill you up, in everything from Starters to Sweets. I decided to try out their recipe for barbecue pizza, but with a twist.

My roommate had bought some wing sauce yesterday for Buffalo Chicken Dip, and I decided to make two pizzas, one Sweet Baby Rays BBQ (the ONLY good BBQ sauce!) and a Buffalo Chicken Pizza. I originally planned to put them on pita flatbreads, but alas, they had molded :/ so onto Plan B, I used a flour tortilla and some Wheat Sandwich Thins that had gone a little stale.

The recipe (for 2, I needed lunch tomorrow!):

1 flour tortilla

3 Whole Wheat Sandwich Thins

4T Buffalo Hot Sauce (medium heat) + 1T

4T Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce + 1T

1 thawed boneless, skinless chicken breast

1/2 small yellow onion, diced

Sharp shredded Cheddar Cheese

Shredded Parmesan Cheese

Heat oven to 400 degrees, and place Sandwich Thins and tortilla on baking stone/cookie sheet. Cut chicken into bite-sized pieces and grill or toss in breadcrumbs and brown in skillet. Split chicken pieces into two separate ziploc bags, filling one with 4T Buffalo Hot Sauce and the other with 4T Sweet Baby Rays. Shake chicken bags until well coated. Spread tortilla and 1 sandwich thin with 1T BBQ sauce, and other 2 sandwich thins with Buffalo sauce. Top with chicken and onion pieces, and add cheddar cheese to BBQ pizza, Parm cheese to Buffalo pizza. Bake for 6-8 minutes, or until crust is crispy and cheese is fully melted.

Chicken Toss!

Layin’ down the sauce.

Pre-Oven.

Finished product!

mmmm mmmm good 🙂

Before I go, I heard a tragic story yesterday of a girl around my age experiencing a horrendous loss. You don’t have to know a person to feel for them, and you certainly don’t have to in order to pray for them. So whether you pray, chant, dance, or just sit in silence, hope and send powerful vibes of love and strength to this family and to anyone who is hurting. And please, don’t ever forget to tell people how much you love them. You only get so many chances.

“And now, I’m glad I didn’t know

the way it all would end

the way it all would go.

our lives are better left to chance;

I could have missed the pain, 

but I’d have had to miss

The Dance.”

–Garth Brooks.

NP: “All This Time” by Britt Nicole

No comments yet

Leave a comment